Scientific and Cargo Expertise

Scientific and Cargo Expertise

Scientific and Cargo Expertise

Brookes Bell’s proven track record of assisting clients can be traced back over 50 years and we have a strong record of success in providing expert evidence for litigation. Our Scientists have backgrounds in, physics, chemistry, biology, geosciences, foods and feedstuffs.

We regularly advise on bulk foodstuffs (grain, oilseeds, sugar etc.) and animal feeds (seed cakes etc,) and are able to assist our clients with all aspects of deterioration, spoilage, heating, contamination, quality disputes, food/feed safety, GM food regulations and other losses. We have extensive reference material and access to studies and data on all types of commodity.

Brookes Bell have a unique depth and breadth of scientific cargo expertise. We can offer assistance in understanding and interpreting all aspects of the IMDG Code for the carriage of packaged goods, and the IMSBC Code for bulk commodities, such as:

  • Liquefaction/Group A (iron ore fines, concentrates, nickel ore)
  • Seed Cake
  • Coal
  • Direct Reduced Iron (DRI)
  • Sulphur
  • Fertiliser
  • And many others.

We have expertise in the categorisation and declaration of dangerous goods and can assist with the UN Standard Tests which define the hazard classes.

Our paint experts are regularly appointed to investigate coating failures and advise on the necessary repairs. Brookes Bell provide assistance with the investigation of the root cause of coating failure in order to determine whether there are issues related to the application or quality of the coating or the specific service environment.

Experts

Kai Aamlid Senior Scientist
London
+47 469 87828 kai.aamlid@brookesbell.com
Penelope Cooke Managing Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7818 597712 penelope.cooke@brookesbell.com
Nicholas Crouch Principal Scientist
Shanghai
+86 1368 1991503 nicholas.crouch@brookesbell.com
Daria Hinz Senior Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7818 597711 daria.hinz@brookesbell.com
Martin Jonas Director of Science UK
Liverpool
+44 7887 997132 martin.jonas@brookesbell.com
Wen Li Scientist
Shanghai
+86 17 8212 20558 wen.li@brookesbell.com
Tim Moss Director of Science Asia
Hong Kong
+852 9107 7727 tim.moss@brookesbell.com
Luigi Petrone Senior Scientist
Hong Kong
+852 9026 7875 luigi.petrone@brookesbell.com
Marcelo Rodrigues Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7770440344 marcelo.rodrigues@brookesbell.com
Daniel Sheard Principal Scientist
Liverpool
+ 44 7471 995920 daniel.sheard@brookesbell.com
Karwei So Scientist
Hong Kong
+852 5685 1819 karwei.so@brookesbell.com
Bryan Ward Scientist
Liverpool
+44 7469 353950 bryan.ward@brookesbell.com