Tom Ainsley

Tom Ainsley

Return to Our People

Tom Ainsley

Managing Marine Engineer

based in Liverpool

Direct Tel: +44 7469 150801
Office Tel: +44 151 236 0083
Email: tom.ainsley@brookesbell.com
Qualifications: BEng (Hons), LLM, IEng, MIMarEST

Information

Tom Ainsley is an Incorporated Marine Engineer with a First Class Certificate of Competency (Motor). Additional qualifications include a Bachelor of Engineering Degree (with Honours) in Marine Engineering and Management and a Master of Laws in Maritime Law (with distinction). Tom joined Brookes Bell in 2017.

Tom's surveying and consultancy experience with Brookes Bell includes main and auxiliary engine failure investigations, hull damage surveys, crane damages, bunker disputes and fire investigation. Tom has also provided technical advice on new-build disputes, including Superyachts.

Prior to joining Brookes Bell, Tom was at sea over a period of ten years serving on large Ro-Ro and Ro-Pax vessels, attending the new building and commissioning of part of a fleet of multi-role diesel electric Oil Recovery Vessels, ORV/Platform Supply Vessels (PSV). Tom subsequently worked offshore on these vessels in the North Sea.

Tom has served in all ranks up to Second Engineer and has considerable experience in the operation and maintenance of medium and high speed diesel engines, Dynamic Positioning (DP) system maintenance, High Voltage (HV) diesel-electric systems as well as geared and clutched power transmission systems. During his time at sea Tom has attended numerous dry-dockings, Failure Model and Effects Analysis (FMEA) trials and DP trials.

Tom has also experienced serving as a crewmember onboard sail and motor yachts up to 75 m and holds an MCA Yachtmaster Offshore Certificate of Competence.

Similar People

Brendan Cuffe Director of UK, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7947 354483 brendan.cuffe@brookesbell.com
Herman Eijkelenboom Managing Marine Engineer
Shanghai
+86 1358 5652041 herman.eijkelenboom@brookesbell.com
Matthew Fenton Principal Marine Engineer
Hong Kong
+852 6286 6571 matthew.fenton@brookesbell.com
Chris Gascoigne Director of Marine Engineering UK
London
+44 7867 356025 chris.gascoigne@brookesbell.com
John Gibson Director of Asia, Marine Engineer
Singapore
+65 966 11179 john.gibson@brookesbell.com
Mark Lamb Marine Engineer
Singapore
+65 96580451 mark.lamb@brookesbell.com
Ray Luukas Chief Technical Officer, Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7770 440342 ray.luukas@brookesbell.com
Conan O'Driscoll Managing Marine Engineer
Liverpool
+44 7818 598465 conan.odriscoll@brookesbell.com
Andrew Page Managing Marine Engineer
London
+44 7584 212 221 andrew.page@brookesbell.com
Mihhail Teor Marine Engineer
London
+44 7471 994 436 mihhail.teor@brookesbell.com
Martin Twomey Director of Marine Engineering Asia
Shanghai
+86 136 01603637 martin.twomey@brookesbell.com
Chris Fisher Consultant Fuel Specialist, Marine Engineer
London
+44 7717 872095 chris.fisher@brookesbell.com
Robert Vart Consultant Marine Engineer
Hong Kong
+852 9031 1478 robert.vart@brookesbell.com